Today’s a brew day

Update: The brew day went excellent. I was going for an original gravity of 1.047 and ended up a little over 6 gallons at 1.049…so more beer and a higher gravity, excellent. I hope to see the airlock going crazy by tomorrow morning but we’ll see.

So as I sit here I’m currently about 15 minutes in on my American Wheat mash. I’ve been doing 10 gallon batches for quite sometime but decided to go with a 6 gallon today. I was worried about my ability to safely carry around ~11 gallons of boiling wort. I was initially planning on doing two different 6 gallon batches today but figure I’ll wait and do 6 gallons of a blonde maybe as soon as Wednesday.

Here’s the recipe I went with on the American Wheat that I have yet to name:

Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: S05
Yeast Starter: no
Batch Size (Gallons): 6
Original Gravity: 1.047
Final Gravity: ~1.010
IBU: 16
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 4.1 SRM
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 @ 68F

Ingredients
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00%

4lbs Pale Malt (3.0 SRM) Grain 34%
4lbs Base 2 Row (1.5 SRM) Grain 34%
2.75lbs Malted Wheat (2 SRM) 23.2%
.75lbs Flaked Wheat (2 SRM) 6.4%
.30lbs Honey Malt (20 SRM) 2.3%

.3 oz Magnum [13.00 %] (60 min) Hops 12 IBU
.3 oz Magnum [13.00%] (5 min) Hops 2 IBU
.3 oz Cascade [6.4%] (5 min) Hops 1 IBU
.4 oz Cascade [6.4%] (0 min) Hops 0 IBU

1 TSP Irish Moss (15 min)
2 TBSP PH water corrected into mash and sparge water

1 Pkg Safale US-05 Ale Yeast

Mash Profile

Single Infusion
60 min Mash In Add 4 gallons of water at 165 F 152.0 F
collected ____ gallons on mash out
Add 5.5 gallons of water at 175 F 171.0 F for sparge
collected ____ gallons of sparge runoff

In the upcoming week I plan to rack my Chocolate Stout to secondary fermenters and add some various things that I’ll post about later. I also will be writing up a couple of beer reviews as well..I have about 20 pending write ups. I’ll probably post a list of upcoming reviews at the end of the end of my next post.

Leave a Reply

