Beer Review: Cigar City’s Maduro Oatmeal Brown

A very sweet beer...more of a stout than a brown

Cigar City Maduro Oatmeal Brown

ABV: 5.2%

SRM: ~20

I had this on tap and the beer came with a finger or so of head with very little retention but solid lacing. The first thing I noted was how dark this beer was for an “oatmeal brown.” I actually read a few things online about the color to make sure I actually got the right beer…after checking, it appears I definitely ended up getting the Maduro. It wasn’t black like Old Rasputin, but close…a very dark brown with a bit of red hue.

The aroma had a malty chocolate like backbone with a light coffee scent…maybe even a little toffee as well. I didn’t notice any hop aroma at all. As I drank, the aroma seemed to get progressively sweeter which I enjoyed.

The flavor was unexpectedly sweet with definite flavors or coffee, some roasted malts, a bit nutty as well. I noticed that there was very little to no bitterness until afterward, which was still a very subtle bitter aftertaste. It was extremely smooth and the flavors were well balanced along with a strong carbonation for this type of beer. The carbonation was almost too much, but after talking with the bartender, she mentioned that their beers are all currently served at higher than recommended pressure which could account for this small issue.

Overall: 7.5/10 (B or B+)

I actually really liked this beer. I haven’t had a ton of browns so I can’t make an expert analysis, but it came off more as a stout like beer than a standard brown. Even though this had some definite coffee tones, I still really enjoyed the brew (I’m not a coffee lover). It’s a beer I would easily buy again if I see it around.

One Response

Leave a Reply

