Beer Review: O’Fallon Cherry Chocolate

Like Cherry Tootsie Pops? You'll love this...

O’Fallon Brewery Cherry Chocolate

ABV: 5.7%

SRM: ~18

This beer poured a mediocre head with very little retention or lacing around the glass. For what it’s worth, I may be using a dish detergent that is killing the normal head of most beers. I may try a new detergent or start rinsing my pint glasses after getting them from the dish washer. Either way, as of right now I’m just going with what I see.

The aroma was actually very nice. Both the cherry and the chocolate come through pretty well, though it isn’t something that overwhelms. The first thing that popped in my mind was the glory days of cherry Tootsie Pops…it actually smelled exactly like what I remember those smelling like, which naturally brought a nice smile to my face. It has once of those aromas that make you say “yes!” but in this case, the chocolate aroma following the cherry made me want to bite the cherry to get to the chocolate center (another Tootsie Pop reference). Too bad this beer didn’t come with a “star” on the label so I could get a free one (I’ve probably taken it too far with the comparison to Tootsie Pops now).

The beer had a nice mouthfeel…though it was much lighter than I had anticipated. When I picked this beer initially, I figured it would be a very thick beer with a heavy mouth feel. I really couldn’t have been more wrong. What I ended up with was a beer that was much more light and almost watery than any comparable beer I’ve had. While it was rather light, it had a dark appearance of around 18SRM. It was actually a pretty unpleasant look and seemed like dirty creek water rather than my expected dark chocolate appearance.

The flavor started sweet with both the cherry and chocolate flavors coming through. Like the aroma, neither the cherry nor the chocolate was overwhelming but was still present and complemented each other well. I didn’t notice any real hop flavors but there was a mild bitter aftertaste but remained well balanced with the main flavor profile.

Overall: 6.75/10 (B-)

A nice beer with a better than average flavor and aroma. In short, I definitely would have preferred a thicker beer based on the flavor profile. This beer is something that I could see a lot of women drinking if they had the opportunity and the desire to branch out a bit. Rachel (the lady friend) doesn’t drink anything but ultra light beers (Bud Light, Bud Dry, etc) with Busch being the heaviest beer she will drink…and she liked this one.

4 Responses

  1. This is one of those beers you can only drink a couple of.. it’ll make you sick to drink much more.

    • It seemed like that…though I usually don’t have problems having more than a couple of something as thin as this. I can see the chocolate/cherry mix getting old pretty quick in one sitting.

  2. […] Continue reading here: Beer Review: O'Fallon Cherry Chocolate « The Brown Bottle […]

  3. You can install them on the counter, and some baking cabinets powder
    for leavening. If only you had something like I just explained, you
    would cabinets know how much you can spend and what your limitations are.
    Luckily I found some good buys.

Leave a Reply

